Pear Bureau Northwest Announces 2016 "Pear Up With USA Pears" Display Contest Winners

Pear Bureau Northwest Announces 2016 "Pear Up With USA Pears" Display Contest Winners

Sponsored Message
Learn More

PORTLAND, OR – The contest period for the 3rd annual “Pear Up with USA Pears” display competition has come and gone, and the contest’s sponsors, Pear Bureau Northwest, have announced its list of winners and 39 cash prizes.

Kathy Stephenson, Marketing Communications Director, Pear Bureau Northwest“Every year, Pear Bureau Northwest celebrates and rewards dedicated produce personnel who build these creative sales-boosting displays. They are the heroes of the industry,” stated Kathy Stephenson, Marketing Communications Director at Pear Bureau Northwest.

From January 1 through April 15, 2016, the displays made by produce personnel were viewed by consumers in produce departments throughout U.S. and Canada for at least one week. 

Each display featured pear varieties such as Green Anjou, Red Anjou, Bosc pears, and more. Pear Bureau Northwest stated in a press release that it awarded first, second, and third place winners in three separate categories, with ten honorable mentions. The prizes were as follows in each category:

  • 1st place: $1,000
  • 2nd place: $750
  • 3rd place: 500
  • Honorable mentions: $150 each

Entries were judged on their appearance, creativity, and educational value, and received five bonus points if the display included a second, smaller-sized fruit in bulk, bags, or totes. Each contest entrant automatically received an Amazon gift card in thanks for their participation. 

“We appreciate the work that goes into each entry and know participating retailers appreciate the pear category increases of as much as 300% reported during the contest,” finished Stephenson. 

The list of winners for each separate category can be found below:

1 - 5 Cash Registers Category Winning Entry by Tammy McEachron from Mirbitos IGA, Hannibal, NY

1 – 5 Cash Registers Category:

1st Place: Tammy McEachron, Mirbitos IGA, Hannibal, NY

2nd Place: Holly Mathis, Neighborhood Co-op Grocery, Carbondale, IL
(second year placing in top three)

3rd Place: Margie Hansen, Nilssen’s Foods, Baldwin, WI

Honorable Mentions (Alphabetical Order):

  • Sheila Burt, Mike’s Food Center, St. Charles, MN
  • Kathy Fleming, Hurley’s Fresh Market, Towanda, PA
  • Mike Hearns, Hollywood Markets, Troy, MI
  • Nancy Hoffstetter, Cortland Sparkle Market, Cortland, OH
  • Kia Lapier, Tops Markets, Schroon Lake, NY
  • Tracey Norton, Sumter IGA, Sumter, S.C.
  • Lisa Reedy, Community Markets, Oak Harbor, OH
  • Rex Titch, Tops Markets, Waterford, PA
  • Marcie Zweigart, St. Helens Marketfresh, St. Helens, OR
  • Teresa Lewis, Piggly Wiggly, Oak Hill, OH 


6 - 9 Cash Registers Category Winning Entry by David Scarlett from KVAT Food Stores, Knoxville, TN

6 - 9 Cash Registers Category:

1st Place: David Scarlett, KVAT Food Stores, Knoxville, TN

(second year placing in top three)

2nd Place:  Casey Erlacher, Hy-Vee Food Store, Canton, IL

 3rd Place: Al Poland, Chucks Produce, Vancouver, WA

Honorable Mentions (Alphabetical Order):

  • Shannon Adkins, KVAT Food City, Pikeville, KY
  • Dawn Beckby, Henderson's IGA, Valentine, NE
  • Jose Cruz, Angelo Caputo’s Fresh Market, South Elgin, IL
  • Steven Davis, Donelan’s Supermarket, Acton, MA
  • Brandon Hackbarth, Tops Markets, Hamburg, NY
  • Ted Koutsouliou, Haymaker Village Shop & Save, Monroeville, PA
  • Tracie Newberry, Piggly Wiggly, Pinetops, NC
  • Kenny Ng, Calgary Co-Op, Calgary, Alta., Canada
  • Arturo Perez, Pete’s Fresh Market, Chicago, IL
  • Rick Weber, Hy-Vee Food Store, Waterloo, IA


10+ Cash Registers Category Winning Entry by John Weber from Hy-Vee Food Store, Worthington, MN

10+ Cash Registers Category:

1st Place: John Weber, Hy-Vee Food Store, Worthington, MN

2nd Place: Ken Marske, Schmitz’s Economart, Spooner, WI 
(second year placing in top three)

3rd Place: Doug Van Til, Van Tils Supermarket, Hammond, IN 

Honorable Mentions (Alphabetical Order):

  • David A, Calgary Co-Op Association, Calgary, Alta., Canada
  • Francisco Andrade, Angelo Caputo’s Fresh Markets, Carol Stream, IL
  • Justin Fiscus, Dutch-way Farm Market, Myerstown, PA
  • William Gordon, Roche Brothers, Wellesley, MA
  • Billy Guidry, Rouses Supermarkets, Thibodaux, LA
  • Benjamin Karlen, Hy-Vee Food Store, Owatonna, MN
  • Lisa Larson, Calgary Co-Op, Strathmore, Alta., Canada
  • Luke Miller, Flemington ShopRite, Flemington, NJ
  • Angel Patino, Angelo Caputo’s Fresh Markets, Elmwood Park, IL
  • Joe Costa, Red River Co-op Southdale, Winnipeg, Man., Canada

Photos of the winning entries can be viewed online here. For even more promotion and marketing inspiration, continue to follow AndNowUKnow.

US Pears Pear Bureau Northwest

Companies in this Story

Pear Bureau Northwest

The Pear Bureau Northwest was established in 1931 as a non-profit marketing organization to promote, advertise and…